Ryan B's Blog

Challenge Week 5: Media and a Memory

| 1 Comment

Batman Action Figure Commercial

As a child, I just couldn’t do without my Batman action figure. He was just a normal batman, nothing special. A cape, mask, belt, and a black suit. I would play with him all day, catching crooks and cleaning up the streets of my imagination. None of my other toys could beat him in a fight, and he never let me down. He went with me everywhere in my house, and I always knew he was there with me.

I had an emotional dependency on my Batman. When he was taken away, I would wander around the house, sullen, and eventually pout on the couch. Without Batman, I had nothing to play with. None of my other toys were interesting, and none of my siblings wanted to play with me. I was nothing without Batman, and he was nothing without me.

One Comment

  1. That’s a pretty cool toy commercial…intense!

    I like what you did with this piece, writing about “catching crooks and cleaning up the streets of [your] imagination” and how Batman was nothing without you. You two were true companions, I can tell.

    Well done.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.


Skip to toolbar